It’s All in the Name

I once had a coworker who admitted she named both of her children after characters from television shows. I can only imagine the conversations she must have had with them. Mom, what was your inspiration for choosing my name? Oh I loved spending time watching this one tv show and I wanted it to live forever in my mind, so I gave you the name of one of its characters. Um, thanks mom.

I would meet other people in my life’s journeys that would recall similar stories. Famous people, fact or fiction, served as the inspiration for naming their children. I suppose I have a different view on this subject, because of the connection. The truth is that if you tell a child something long enough, eventually they will meet your expectations. Perhaps I’m being a bit crass here, but if you tell your child (by the mere calling him by his name and he knows the origin of it) that he is nothing more than an inspiration from a short lived TV show, he doesn’t have very high expectations to shoot for.

I didn’t get to pick my oldest son’s name. Karl had planned out what his first son would be named before he even met me. I tried to get him to at least switch the order of the first and middle names, but he would not relent. I went into the marriage knowing beyond the shadow of a doubt that if we ever had a boy, his name would be Michael Shawn. End of discussion. Karl chose this name because he liked it and because it had meaning to it, something he wanted for his son. Michael “Who is like God?” Shawn “God is gracious.” What a way to raise a child.

Matthew was a surprise. Due to the incompetence of my first OB doctor with this pregnancy, our only ultrasound was done too early to detect the baby’s gender. So we prepared a girl’s name and a boy’s name. Since we thought I wouldn’t have any more children, we considered him a gift. Matthew “Gift of God” Wesley “from the West” as we lived in the grand state of Arizona at the time.

Our daughter was a completely different matter. The boys would always carry their German heritage name with them, but we realized that should Greta marry and take her husband’s last name, she would have no reminder of her grandfather’s immigration as a young lad near the end of World War II and the trials he went through as a young German boy that couldn’t speak a word of English in a country that had no sympathy for any Germans. Her name was chosen to remind her of that part of her heritage. It took us a long time to look through German names for girls that weren’t about war or battle prowess. We finally settled on Greta (pearl) and Jolene “God will increase” in memory of her maternal grandpa that was dying of cancer as she was born. Her name meant something.

Many cultures name their children after the attributes they want them to have, Serenity, Faith or Grace. Some name their children before they are born and others wait until the child begins to show some personality before selecting a permanent name. Still others have had their name changed, to reveal a change in their status or character. Jacob “Deceiver” become Israel “God strives” to commemorate his night of wrestling with God.

What have you called yourself lately? Idiot, Stupid perhaps? Why not try some of the names God has for us, such as greatly beloved, chosen, dear friends, disciples, overcomers or forgiven. My husband changed the way I looked at myself, by starting to call me Gorgeous. He still calls me by my given name, but he also calls me Gorgeous, to remind me that even if I don’t like my 40 something old body that has taken a few beatings from Crohn’s Disease, that I am still special to him. That name says it all and it has encouraged me many times.

Like it or not, we have a connection to the names we are given, the names we give and the names we answer to. It’s all in the name.

1 Comment

Filed under Crohn's Disease, Family, Parenting

One response to “It’s All in the Name

  1. We have a tradtion thta my wife and I followed to name your children after deceased family members as a way of honoring them/keeping their memory alive.