A New Pair of Glasses

I feel like one of those detectives assigned to the cold case room. These unresolved cases sit for 25 years or more and now a new team of detectives goes back and takes a second look, utilizing the technology and modern crime solving techniques that weren’t available when the case went cold. I am a cold case detective and the incidents I’m trying to resolve are my own. Twenty-five years ago, they didn’t make any sense, but with modern technology and a new pair of glasses, I’m back on the case!

I’m not alone in my detective work. I’ve got a great team. My husband is the IT man of the team. Not only does he keep all the technology working smoothly, he also willingly buries himself into critical research. The team would be nothing without him. I am the main witness, trying to solve my own case and it was one of my doctors that was responsible for giving me the “new set of glasses.” With my diagnosis of Crohn’s Disease, I now had a new reference point for examining all of the data and evidence.

The first mystery dates back to 1982, where the case might have turned out differently, had modern testing and medical knowledge been available at the time. The crime scene – your every day small town hospital operating room. The innocent bystanders were the doctors and nurses who performed the routine appendectomy on me, only to find it wasn’t necessary. They followed the clues the best they could, but the trail went mysteriously cold. They faced a difficult challenge though, once in and bothered, the appendix can become a problem, so it was removed.

My case was once confused with mountain sickness. The evil professor of pain came back to torture me while I was in Leadville, Colorado for an international youth campout. For those of you who don’t know, Leadville sits higher than Denver. It was easy for the detectives at the time to attribute my case to this little Oklahoma girl being out of her element and succumbing to mountain sickness. It was an open and shut case, so they thought, back in the summer of 1985. Only when reviewing the evidence with the new pair of glasses do I see the correlation between the two.

Back in those Oklahoma hills where I belonged, the evil professor of pain pulled out all of his stops. It was a good thing we were far from Leadville, the good detectives there might be embarrassed to see how they had missed this case. My new detectives made a courageous decision – we won’t know unless we take risks and stake out the territory. My mother signed the papers giving them permission to do their surveillance. After a long incision, removal of 18 inches of colon for evidence and weeks of recovery from the stake out, the case was considered closed. They found the damaged colon and removed it. No further investigation was necessary.

It was a severe blow to the evil professor of pain, so he laid low for some time. He must have had a great underground network. He would make appearances from time to time, just so I wouldn’t forget about him and get too complacent. But for more than 20 years, he left me mostly alone. This is when the big mistake happened. Another criminal came on the scene and he was easily vanquished and sent packing with a straight shot of NSAID‘s. Little did we know that the evil professor of pain grew stronger and bolder when NSAID’s were in use. All too soon he made a comeback.

With my new set of glasses, I now can easily spot the trail of the evil professor of pain and try to beat him at his own game. All these mysteries of the past and many more make sense when I see how they were all linked together. Now the case is wide open. We know we have the suspect and we are working on apprehending him before he can cause any more damage. The case is also being shared with other detectives. Perhaps they too have had a cold case that looks similar to mine. By sharing my detective story, I hope to help other detectives in their efforts to stop the dastardly deeds of the evil professor of pain.

Comments Off on A New Pair of Glasses

Filed under Crohn's Disease

Comments are closed.