With Donations Like These…

This was left for retirees to haul off.

My mother volunteers at a local thrift store, along with many other retirees. This is what greeted her one morning – a “donation.”

This thrift store sells “gently used” clothing and small household items and serves many in the local community. The funds they raise are used to assist burnout victims and others. It also helps to keep the lights on in the building. It sickened me to see this trash that was left for grandmas and grandpas to haul off.

I remember in a class discussion at church one day, a woman broke down in tears and said that when she was in need, a friend took her and pulled out the very best dress she had in her closet. This woman admitted that her friend didn’t have much, but she gave the best she had. Too often, we think we are giving when we donate what’s left or what we can no longer use because of its condition.

Sometime in the next 12 months, consider buying a brand new outfit or package of underwear or socks and donating them to a local thrift store. You will see eyes light up and get more appreciation and thanks than you can probably handle. As you look at this picture and then go about your day, ask yourself this question: how do I give my time? Do I give what is left to my church, my family, my God? Do I only give what is left that is all used up and not good for much else? Or do I give the best I have?

Comments Off on With Donations Like These…

Filed under Family

Comments are closed.