Infamy

http://www.ussarizona.org/

Is it really possible that 71 years ago today, one act of aggression changed the face of a war?

I’ve visited a lot of memorials and monuments in my life. My father was the kind of traveler that didn’t miss anything worth seeing along the way. A drive that would take most people three hours took us eight. But those eight hours were filled with memories, discoveries and family. One thing dad rarely missed – monuments and memorials.

The day I stood on the USS Arizona Memorial was something I had never experienced before in all my life. Monuments and memorials are dead. But this memorial was eerily alive. You can see some of the tallest parts of the ship under those clear waters. As the waves drive in and around through the harbor, they force little bits of oil from wherever it can still be found on that great ship.

The veterans of World War II are growing smaller and smaller in number as time marches on. Please take the time to thank one today. You may not have that chance tomorrow.

Comments Off on Infamy

Filed under Community

Comments are closed.