New Words

I studied French in high school and college. I love foreign languages! My oldest is studying Spanish. It was so much fun to amaze him at translating some words, just because of their similarity to French words. Studying even just one foreign language can open up all kinds of opportunities!

I hate the new language I’m learning – Crohn’s Disease. Today’s new word – arthritides. I hate these little chemicals that Crohn’s releases into my body. I’m not enjoying this at all. Writing (the old fashioned pen and paper kind) is painful and at some point I am sure even typing will become more trouble than it is worth.

The more I study this new language, the more I learn that Crohn’s is really a vast network of disease and symptoms. It is much bigger than most of us realize. I’m learning to recognize that every new thing isn’t exactly new, just a different manifestation of the disease. Bummer.

It does make me think about other connections though. What new “symptoms” in relationships am I frustrated about, when really they are just new manifestations of a problem that has been there for some time. Maybe that adage about nipping something in the bud is some of the best advice ever! If you are dealing with a new struggle right now, take the time to see if perhaps it is just a new manifestation of something you haven’t taken care of yet. That doesn’t mean it will be easy to do. The longer you leave something to fester, the more effort it will take when you finally decide to take care of it. But in the end, it will be worth it. Now if I can just figure out how to defeat arthritides.

Comments Off on New Words

Filed under Crohn's Disease

Comments are closed.