Coming Full Circle

Today, I’ll sit at a table at a health fair – creating awareness for Crohn’s Disease and other Irritable Bowel issues. Months ago, I searched online and found a Crohn’s patient advocacy program. I signed up. I got an advocate. She and I have talked and emailed numerous times. Today, she will be at the health fair with me and I get to meet her in person.

The patient advocacy program changed my life in many ways, giving me support and encouragement and pointing me in new directions when I needed it. It has been a long journey, but I’m grateful today to have this experience and hopefully give back.

Today, I hope to promote understanding. Crohn’s is not understood well and often stereotyped incorrectly. No, not everyone is pencil thin. No, not everyone has to run to the bathroom endlessly. It is such a broad disease that manifests itself in a variety of ways. Two patients, same gender, age, socio-economic background and whatever else you can imagine can both have Crohn’s and manifest it differently. Much of the pain and inconvenience isn’t in the open. Many suffer in silence.

Comments Off on Coming Full Circle

Filed under Crohn's Disease

Comments are closed.