Safe Accountability

I am all for accountability! It really works. My husband is back on his weight loss goals and we have the chart out again. He loves to hear the excitement of the kids each day when he lowers the number on the board. Hooray for daddy! The encouragement keeps him going.

As a woman, I can tell you right now that I have no intention of putting my weight on the chart each day. Karl has invited me to join him in his motivation tool, but I know my kids. They tell everything! What could I do?

Finally God revealed the perfect idea to me. Getting Down with Me Money!

I made a chart for the days of the week and a simple motivation tool. Each day that I put a down arrow on the chart (meaning my weight went down, however great or small the amount), that equals one Me Dollar – money I can spend on myself. I have the accountability of the public chart and the encouragement of the kids, but not the constant fear that one of them will reveal my weight at school to their friends. I also have a great motivator tool. You see, I always feel guilty about spending money on myself. You know; there are bills to pay, donations to give and always something more important than splurging on a little thing for yourself. My family will encourage me to use those Me Dollars and to keep getting down arrows on my chart.

I put my first down arrow on the chart today. Here is to many more down arrows and safe accountability.

Comments Off on Safe Accountability

Filed under Healthy Lifestyle

Comments are closed.