You said what?

My husband was sharing some of his recent conversations with some church members, telling how prayers have been answered in some areas. He told me how he spoke very bluntly (I would say rudely) to one person and I responded, “You said that to him?” My husband of course replied, “Yes.”

I was beginning to think my pastor husband had lost his “bedside manners,” with some of his parishioners, but he continued. “He likes it when I talk in his face, because that’s the way he is. If I didn’t, he wouldn’t appreciate anything I say. It is how he communicates.”

I ran this bit of explanation through all I knew about the various church members and realized, he was right. He had taken the time to know the person and know how to best communicate with them and after praying about pastoral counsel, went for it!

It was a good lesson for me. When I really need to communicate something important to someone, do I study them and know how best to present it? Have I learned how they would be most receptive to my words? Do I take enough time to show I care about who they are to converse with them in a way that makes them feel comfortable?

Do you have an important conversation you need to have with someone? Take the time to intentionally study them and learn how you can make that conversation something they want to be a part of.

Comments Off on You said what?

Filed under Community

Comments are closed.