Breakfast

Breakfast is the most important meal of the day. Truly it is. Do some research and you’ll find some amazing things. First of all, breakfast is a free meal. Huh? If you are eating a decently nutritious breakfast – tank up! Healthy calories consumed at the morning meal are normally burned off during the course of the day. Just watch yourself for lunch and supper. Logically, if you eat 800 calories at 6:30 in the evening, most likely you won’t have time to burn off enough of those calories to justify what you ate. It’s really a no brainer.

The meal is pretty important at our house and I’m proud to say my kids get a home prepared breakfast before they go to school. I hear the stories of other kids that come to school hungry and they feel so sorry for those kids. I want to get in the faces of their parents and ask them if they are crazy! It is sad when the school has to send notes home to please make sure your kids get a good breakfast so they can do their best on the standardized testing coming up.

But a home prepared meal comes at a price. Mom had to get up earlier and sometimes dad too. The children need to have their lunches finished and out of the way so mom can get going on making that most important meal of the day. This morning, all three of my kids overslept, but I didn’t. Eventually I grabbed the air horn we use as a last resort to remind them that yes, it is another day and school cannot be avoided. I informed my husband that the children would be in the way and I would have to make a simpler breakfast, not the mouth watering breakfast burritos he had been hoping for.

Karl doesn’t move fast unless he has to. It is not in his nature. He is the peaceful, easy going, relational person that spend a lot of time thinking through how decisions and reactions will affect various relationships. He sees the big picture and takes time along the way to make sure all will be well at the end of the day. This takes time. But breakfast burritos are his favorite. He jumped out of bed and began rallying the troops. Get your lunches made and out of mommy’s way if you want breakfast burritos!

Needless to say, we had breakfast burritos this morning. Did it require extra effort and inconvenience since we were already behind schedule a bit? Of course! But the whole family felt it was worth the effort. Now my challenge is how to bottle that intentionality and purpose and speed for other things in life. How can I show my children that there are many things in life worth pulling out all the stops for – not just breakfast burritos? I am determined to find an answer.

Comments Off on Breakfast

Filed under Family, Parenting

Comments are closed.