My issue is not your responsibility

Crohn’s Disease + cold = painful intestinal cramps. Needless to say, I don’t like cold air blowing directly on me. Today I spent an hour and a half in a facility that had problems with its heater. It was blowing out cold air. My jacket wasn’t enough and soon I had intestines in knots. It wasn’t fun.

Bad facility. They shouldn’t do that to people, right? In a sense yes, but in actuality – no. I am responsible for my special needs. Think about it for a minute. If we asked any and all business and facilities to make accommodations for every single special need out there – no one could stay in business. Does this facility need to get their heater fixed? That would be a huge yes!

But the greater burden lands on me. If I know that I get cold easily and it can lead to excruciating pain, I need to make sure I have a travel blanket with me. If I know that I get cold easily and do nothing about it – why should I start a crisis because I’m not warm enough?

Please don’t get me wrong. I’m not saying stop helping people. By all means, let us be compassionate and helpful to all we come in contact with. I’m all for compassion and going the extra mile. But it doesn’t change the fact that we are responsible for our own special needs. I have a diabetic friend that wishes his church would provide sugar free drink at their potluck meals in addition to the lemonade and fruit punch they serve. It would be nice if they did and they should try to do that, but in the end, he knows he has special needs and comes prepared.

So, I’m going to make sure I travel with a jacket and a blanket now, to cover those very sensitive intestines. It’s my responsibility.

Comments Off on My issue is not your responsibility

Filed under Community, Crohn's Disease

Comments are closed.