Bagging and Tetris

I’ve had the privilege of learning some coaching techniques lately and the world of questions has opened up to me. So I’m now learning the new habit of asking questions as conversation starters. One of my favorites is: what is the part of your job you like the most? I’ve gotten amazing answers, some that spawned 15 minute conversations. I’ve also gotten the somewhat expected – when I get off of work.

One day I asked the lady at Walmart that was checking my groceries what her favorite part of her job was. Her answer was surprising and yet not. She smiled, almost as if embarrassed at first, then admitted she likes the challenge of bagging groceries the best she can. She even went so far as to say it was like a good game of Tetris. I liked her answer.

But Sharon, she’s just a clerk at Walmart. Really? That lady is a hero. She works hard with a good attitude and finds a way to enjoy her job. She’s an example to workers everywhere in any field. I shared her answer with my geometry/math/physics loving son and he understood and appreciated her answer as well.

What is your favorite part of your job?

Comments Off on Bagging and Tetris

Filed under Community

Comments are closed.