Life Without Limits?

This weekend I was at a retreat for pastoral wives. One look at the schedule and I knew I was in trouble. Two days of awesome seminars and activities in San Antonio, Texas, and me burdened down with fatigue and pain from Crohn’s Disease. The bus was going to load up at 2:00 Saturday afternoon and not coming back until 10:00 that night. How would I manage all of the activities?

I discovered that in order to experience life without limits, I had to limit myself. Yes, chew on that one for a while.

Presently, my fatigue is somewhat manageable if I can get a 30-45 minute nap (yes, I love even longer ones) in the morning. If I get in one morning nap and pace myself the rest of the day, I do okay. But there were seminars scheduled all morning and activities all afternoon. So I limited myself.

I cut out one morning seminar and took my required nap. On the tour bus, I commandeered the back seat and brought my pillow and blanket with me. Yes, I missed some great conversations on the bus and a great morning seminar, but I experienced life without limits in exploring a cavern, The Alamo and downtown San Antonio, an incredible vegetarian restaurant and the San Antonio Riverwalk.

I still attended other seminars, I just skipped one of the morning lectures. I still did the tours, I just slept on the bus between destinations. By limiting myself, I experienced life without limits that I thought would have otherwise been impossible.

Comments Off on Life Without Limits?

Filed under Crohn's Disease

Comments are closed.