Internal Bruising

A hospital emergency room is not where I envision spending a Saturday night with my husband, but alas, I did. My intense abdominal pain demanded it.

We spent a few hours getting lab work (Karl and his hatred of needles politely left the room) and a CT scan. Their results: beautiful. While this was good news (we had reason to fear a perforation of my bowel or an abscess), it didn’t answer the question as to why I was still in pain from a colonoscopy done more than two weeks ago? The joys of living with Crohn’s Disease.

Alas, after much discussion with a lovely and patient ER physician, our best guess is unseen internal bruising from the colonoscopy, due to the doctor performing it having to force it past the area where I was patched together from a surgery in my teenage years. Who knew internal bruising could last so long and hurt so bad?

It is difficult to see internal bruising of the intestines and therefore determine how long it will heal. I suppose it is a lot like other things that aren’t always noticeable from the outside. So perhaps I shall learn a lesson about others and hidden pain that can’t always be seen. Lord help me be more patient and understanding.

Comments Off on Internal Bruising

Filed under Crohn's Disease

Comments are closed.