Generational Changes

If I thought that it worked for me this way and therefore it should work for my son the same way, I wouldn’t have gone to a seminar today on funding your college education. It was amazing to see how even my alma mater, Southwestern Adventist University, as well as various organizations doling out loans and grants have changed how funding for higher education is handled these days.

Michael has vastly different scholarship opportunities, based on his grades alone, that weren’t available to me during my years earning that amazing bachelor’s degree. It almost makes me sick that this wasn’t available some odd years ago (dare I date myself and give the exact number? No way)!

If this is just for one thing – funding college education – how many other things have changed since “my day.” How narrow minded we can be to think that the way it was done is the way it will always be done. Everything in the home office of 20 years ago is now all in one location at your fingertips if you have  smart phone (rolodex, calendar, calculator, phone, atlas, shopping list, boom box…).

Times change. We are only outdated if we refuse to change with them. Does this mean giving up our values or beliefs? Not at all, but maybe just the way we’ve always packaged them.

Comments Off on Generational Changes

Filed under Community, Parenting

Comments are closed.