#46

It is hard for me to read Psalm 46. When I was a disc jockey at a Christian radio station in college, I often played a song that had been inspired by this verse. Later at another radio station, I often heard a song in a completely different style focusing on a different part of this psalm. So every time I start to read it, I start singing the songs in my mind when I get to those verses. Talk about whiplash!

But what intrigued me was a word I didn’t know – A song for Alamoth. Who is Alamoth? So I looked it up and it is in reference to virgins/a women’s chorus. This Psalm was originally prepared for an all women’s chorus!

We often forget that these words written long ago were actually songs. You’ll see several Psalms that say, “Set to The Lilies.” Evidently that was a popular tune back in the day. The message is clear – people have been praising God in music for centuries. No reason to stop now!

Comments Off on #46

Filed under Music, Spirituality

Comments are closed.