One in a Million

I’m the one.

Odds are one in a million that you will have an allergic reaction to this medication. I then have to inform the doctor, yes, but I’m the one. I tried to convince a doctor once that I was a medical freak. She would hear nothing of it. She explained that you had to have at least three things going on at the same time. I did and I told her so. She didn’t have much to say after that.

One of my gastro doctors was the first to accept my self-awareness. Oh yeah, you’re the weird one. I proved it true under his care. I was the one in a million that wouldn’t properly metabolize the medication we were trying for my Crohn’s Disease.

It’s not easy being the one. Currently, it rather hurts. Only one in a million will have an adverse outcome from a colonoscopy. Again, I am the one. There are days I wonder what it would be like to be normal. God give me strength.

1 Comment

Filed under Crohn's Disease

One response to “One in a Million

  1. Hang in there! Like you, I have the condition and I knoe Crohn’s is a tough condition, but there is always a way of managing it. Talk to your doctors and look for an alternative. There are always new methods being created to help people like us.