For the Weak

Have you heard this before? “Religion is for the weak.” Or how about this one? “God is for wimps.”

My personal opinion is that people who speak such things do so out of ignorance. Evidently they haven’t taken the time to read the Bible and see whether the God described there is wimpy or weak. A few passages in Revelation talks about Jesus coming back a conquering King with His robe dipped in blood. Sounds like a mighty warrior, not a wimp.

In the Old Testament there are numerous references to God’s mighty right arm. In the book of First Kings, Elijah encounters God in a still small voice. Of course, this was after the mighty wind (think tornado), earthquake and fire that passed by first. One of my favorite verses is in the book of Micah. Chapter 7 verse 8 says, “Do  not rejoice over me, my enemy; When I fall, I will arise; When I sit in darkness, The Lord will be a light to me.” In other words, you haven’t seen the last of me because God never gives up and neither do I. You have been warned.

My new favorite among this caliber of verses is Amos 3:8. “A lion has roared! Who will not fear? The Lord God has spoken! Who can but prophesy?” I remember being at the Oklahoma City Zoo as a kid and everyone there freezing for an instant. We knew it was safely enclosed, but when that lion roared, you could hear it through the entire zoo and it made the hair stand up on the back of your neck.

Is God loving and merciful? Of course! There are countless stories in the Bible of His great love for us and that is an understatement. Does God show mercy? Of course He does or you and I wouldn’t be here today breathing and taking up oxygen. As Christians, we are called to share the love of God with others. If you’re not sure about whether or not God is strong enough for you, read more about Him. You just might be surprised.

6 Comments

Filed under Spirituality

6 responses to “For the Weak

  1. Please let me know if you’re looking for a writer for your blog. You have some really good posts and I believe I would be a good asset. If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d love to
    write some articles for your blog in exchange for a link back to
    mine. Please send me an email if interested. Thanks!

    • You have a great site! Celebrations and events are certainly some of the biggest ways people stay connected. I must have missed somehow the examples of articles you have written. I didn’t see any.

  2. Normally I don’t read post on blogs, however I would like to say that this write-up very pressured me to try and do so! Your writing taste has been surprised me. Thank you, quite nice article.

  3. Magnificent goods from you, man. I’ve understand your stuff previous to and you are just extremely wonderful. I actually like what you’ve acquired here, certainly like what
    you are saying and the way in which you say it.
    You make it enjoyable and you still take care of to keep it smart.
    I can not wait to read far more from you. This is actually a tremendous site.