Cold Cereal

There was an explosion at the breakfast table this morning. The kids had pushed me too far and I used my best get their attention voice. It must have been growing up near an Air Force Base and hanging out at times at a National Guard Military Department that gave me the edge with getting their attention. I even got Karl’s attention.

One word, one order from their mommy turned drill sergeant and instantly the children were to their seats at the table and very quiet. Karl and I discussed what was happening and we decided we hadn’t been enforcing the rule. No more! The Cold Cereal Rule will now be enforced.

You see, our kitchen is quite small. There is not enough room for the kids to pack their lunches and for me to make them a good breakfast to help them have a good day at school. So the rule is that they get their lunches done and out of the way in time for me to make a good breakfast for them. They’ve been pushing it and it makes it very difficult for me to make breakfast. So the threat of be on time or we will have cold cereal hasn’t been enforced. No more. Karl and I have decided a rule isn’t any good if it isn’t enforced. So the kids may end up having cold cereal every school day for a while, until they can figure out we mean business.

The hardest part about parenting, is disciplining yourself! I don’t want cold cereal every day. That’s the truth. But I will have to train myself and sacrifice and eat cold cereal in order to teach the children a lesson. I hope they learn it fast. I want to go back to pancakes and breakfast burritos and all kinds of good stuff.

1 Comment

Filed under Family, Parenting

One response to “Cold Cereal

  1. Wow. If I had that rule, we’d all live on Cheerios:).