Camp

I’ve decided that you don’t have to have one of those “near death experiences” to see your life flash before your eyes. All you have to do is see your oldest child do some of the same things you did.

We are sending Michael to work at a Christian youth camp this summer. We are entrusting the directors of Camp Yorktown Bay in Arkansas to put him to work and keep him safe. I feel for them on one point. They have to feed Michael.

There are a myriad of emotions and thoughts going through my mind as I deal with the reality of my son experiencing similar things that I did. That’s a little scary as I look now at how I should have handled situations I found myself in better than I did, when I worked at camp. The ripping my heart out as he leaves the nest has begun.

1 Comment

Filed under Family, Parenting

One response to “Camp

  1. I wonder if this is how our parents felt as we grew up as well. For mine the sadness was likely mixed with the trill of less drama around the house. LOL.