Signature

I will freely admit that my ongoing battle with Crohn’s Disease is wearing on me, but something amazing happened today. I woke up with a song in my mind. “How can I keep from singing Your praise!” A great song by Chris Tomlin.

I settled in for my morning worship time and read part of Psalm 119 an identified with David as he cried out to God to deliver him from the evil that surrounded him. I prayed again that God would be in charge of my battle with Crohn’s and that He would give me peace.

As I often do, I put on some uplifting music while I started on waffles and home made strawberry sauce for breakfast. Karl came out to the kitchen and wondered why I was playing an old CD. Evidently the box that arrived yesterday was the new CD by Steve Green that he ordered for me, but I had mistaken it for something else. He opened it up and got it going in my CD player. One of the songs? “How can I keep from singing Your praise.” It gets even better. The lyrics were meant for me.

I will lift my eyes
In the darkest night
For I know my Savior lives

And I will walk with You
Knowing You’ll see me through
And sing the songs You give

 

This was no coincidence. This was God’s signature on my day, giving me peace in this battle – a peace that only God can give.

Comments Off on Signature

Filed under Crohn's Disease, Music, Spirituality

Comments are closed.