Rules for Dating My Son

In that great source of intellectual wisdom known as Facebook, I ran across a list of “Rules for Dating My Son.” As a mother of two fantastic boys, I was glad to see this end of the picture finally getting some attention. Since I have a daughter as well, of course I appreciate the Dad’s Rules for Dating my Daughter. But for once, it’s nice to focus on our boys.

The one that got me the most was that if you show up looking like a stripper, I will make you go away. So many young ladies are selling themselves short. The media has done a good job of pounding out their message that sex sells. In some instances, they are right. But the people that sex sells to, aren’t necessarily the ones you want to hang around with.

So, young ladies, if you show up to my house looking like a stripper and you want to date my son, I promise you, I will make you go away! But I probably won’t get a chance. My boys will ask you to change before I do. My sons already tell me how girls trying to show their cleavage and so forth bothers them and makes them uncomfortable. If you show up to my house looking like a stripper – you don’t even know my son well enough to date him!

Comments Off on Rules for Dating My Son

Filed under Family, Parenting

Comments are closed.