Input and Output

I’ve sensed it for years, but now I’m going to openly come out and say it. I’ve allowed some input in my 40 some years of life that I certainly wish I hadn’t because now when I really don’t want it to, it becomes a part of my output.

I remember working at a Christian summer camp and one of the books in our campfire songbook was called, “Input, Output.” The song told the simple story that your mind is like a computer (yes, we had those back then) and what you put into it is what you get out of it. Catchy little tune and true little message. Wish I had been true to it more.

I’ll heartily agree that there are some folks on the fringe out there who try to over spiritualize everything, but the fact of the matter is that sometimes a song is just a song and a joke is just a joke and a movie is just a movie. That being said, there are songs, jokes and movies out there that taught things I now wish I had never learned. Perhaps it is my age and maybe there are more 40 somethings out there that find things from their 20’s, give or take, are coming back when they least expect it.

I’m more determined than ever to pay attention to the input I’m receiving. From experience, I’ve learned how important guarding your input can be. I just hope I can teach this lesson to my kids in such a way that they don’t have to learn the hard way, like I did.

Comments Off on Input and Output

Filed under Family, Parenting

Comments are closed.