Oh Where is My Hairbrush?

I suddenly find myself able to relate to the animated cucumber singing about his missing hair brush. Larry, I feel your pain. Mine recently got a free ride to school and back, borrowed by my daughter as she frantically tried to get out the door on time while simultaneously be obedient to her parents that she brush her hair!

Did you know that my daughter has at least three hair brushes? She took mine because she couldn’t find any of hers. One of those brushes had a cute floral pattern on it and a ribbon that I strung through the handle myself. I showed Greta how she could hang the brush by its ribbon on her door knob, that way she would always know where it was. Obviously, misplaced hair brushes were already an issue. Now there is no sign of that hairbrush or the ribbon.

I will take Greta on the great hair brush hunt today. We will probably listen to music while we search her bedroom for signs of bristles. It will most likely be “Glory Battle,” by Michael W. Smith playing on her stereo. The CD was a gift to me from my husband as he knows how much I love music. Unlike a hair brush, when I hear my music playing, I can at least locate it.

The hair brush is frustrating, but the music is different. I’m glad my children have learned a love of music from their parents. Unlike the hair brushes that keep disappearing, I always know where my music is – because someone is playing it, even if they don’t know who the real owner of the CD is. I tried to remind Greta yesterday that the CD was mine. She looked at me with shock and surprise. It’s still in her stereo.

Comments Off on Oh Where is My Hairbrush?

Filed under Family, Music, Parenting

Comments are closed.