Innocence Lost – Generationally

Where were you when..?

For each generation this question has a different face, but it all represents the same thing: innocence lost. For my grandparents, they remembered where they were when they heard about Pear Harbor. My mom remembers where she was when it was announced that President Kennedy had been assassinated. For my generation, the question is about September 11th, 2001 and the four planes that changed our world.

My youngest son is in elementary school and their memories are so different. A fellow student one year older only has the memories of what her mom has related to her. She can’t remember her infancy. Matthew was still in the womb. He was born into a different world than the one he was conceived in. I can’t seem to put it into words how much has changed since that day. The kids have grown up thinking this is life. But we know it used to be different.

I suppose each generation has mourned what their kids will never know. You might think of it as a chipping away of our innocence. Generally, it is portrayed that each generation gets its own statue of innocence that gets a little knocked off over time and events. I don’t think that’s true. I think we all have the same statue of innocence and too much has been chipped off lately.

I would fear that my grandchildren would have nothing left. I would fear that this world will be its own demise and take me with it, except for one thing I know.

God.

I’ve read the end of the book. God comes back, kills the dragon, gets the girl and we all get to go home. As my children and someday in the far off future, grandchildren, see innocence chipped away, I’ll remind them of the one thing that changes everything.

God.

Comments Off on Innocence Lost – Generationally

Filed under Community, Spirituality

Comments are closed.