X=3, Y=-7 and the New Orleans Saints

Everyone was waiting to hear what the referee would say as fans were cheering in the stands and folks at home were glued to their TV sets. Do you remember that play? Almost anyone you ask today, except for the obvious, will agree that it was a bad call. Most folks know that the New Orleans Saints won the super bowl due to a variety of bad calls, including the famous “Pass Interference” call that had folks holding their breath.

For me personally, I wouldn’t want a championship ring that in my heart I knew I hadn’t truly earned. But that’s just me.

Next, we have the big scandal of a head coach that gave players bonuses for intentionally hurting opponents. Many knew. Many kept their mouths shut. Hence began my hatred for the New Orleans Saints.

But I’ve realized recently that life intersects. If you were to plot my life on a grid, like we used to do in Algebra class, I would have given myself all kinds of positive numbers. Hatred for a football team? Who cares? It’s just a game. That doesn’t have anything to do with my faith, right?

So I took a deeper look and realized everything gets plotted on my grid. My hatred for people who had done wrong was still hatred. My ardent support of anyone who would kick the Saints’ butts was nothing but seeking revenge and making sure they got what they deserved. Really?

It’s just a game. But the attitude of hatred and demanding retribution aren’t the attitudes of a Christian. Did the team do wrong? Yes. But I’m not their judge. They’ve been fined and had penalties put on them. Yes, they still got away with the superbowl championship, but what matters is my heart.

Faith is my X axis and life in general is my Y axis – and they do intersect! It is all connected. I’m still not a big fan of the Saints. But instead of harboring hatred and demanding retribution, I’m going to choose to forgive and give them a chance to earn my respect again.

Comments Off on X=3, Y=-7 and the New Orleans Saints

Filed under Community, Spirituality

Comments are closed.