To Stand or Not to Stand

Injustice.

This word doesn’t appear without being noticed. It seems to be one of the popular phrases of the day. Some are moved to right it. Others are moved to disgust that everything seems to be called an injustice today. I saw a different side of injustice this past week. It has changed how I view things.

I stood up for someone. It meant damaging one relationship to help the other. It wasn’t easy to do. Was it the right thing to do? In debriefing over the incident, I realized that in my demanding someone show respect for someone else, which they ought to do for a variety of reasons; I was the only one doing so. The belittled woman didn’t even stand up for herself!

That’s when it hit me. This wasn’t about injustice. This was about choice. One woman chose to disrespect another. But the 2nd woman didn’t respect herself enough to stand up on her own and decry the abuse! She chose to stay in that environment and do nothing about it.

I still need to learn so much about how to right wrongs and how to prevent injustice, but what I learned in this incident has left a huge impact. Before I can come in and undo an injustice, I must first coach the person being abused to see that they have a choice to make. They have to start standing up themselves.

Comments Off on To Stand or Not to Stand

Filed under Community

Comments are closed.