What Could I Say After That?

Our assignment was to find another person and have prayer with each other. The setting was an outdoor church service on a brisk fall morning at a private summer camp facility. Everything was serene, perfect, peaceful and relaxed. No suits and ties. Worship in the green cathedral of God’s natural world.

Trying to make sure the children realized they were just as important as anyone else, I approached a preschool girl and asked if we could have prayer together. She agreed. I asked her who should go first and she said she would. She was so adorable in her prayer, forgetting my name for just a moment and having to put the prayer on pause to get it from me. Then she nailed me!

Dear God, please help Miss Sharon to hear the birds singing in the trees. Amen.

What do you say after that? I was all choked up and her pure sweetness brought tears to my eyes. She however, had no clue what she had done and after I didn’t respond right away, she reminded me, your turn. I barely managed to get out an “okay” so she would know I was still alive and functioning and I tried to get myself together and just thank God for this little girl and outdoor church.

We can get so caught up in all the things we have to do, especially as a pastor’s wife at an outdoor church service. But this little girl reminded me that more than anything else, I just needed to hear the birds singing in the trees that day. Funny, they sounded like a little preschool girl.

Comments Off on What Could I Say After That?

Filed under Spirituality

Comments are closed.