Co-Sleeping

I found this great video on YouTube about a dad that tries to comfort his infant daughter during the night by climbing into her crib with her. It works. She settles down. Then he’s trapped. I shared it with the kids and they all laughed along with me as we watched the antics of this father with his now sleeping daughter that he doesn’t want to disturb – but he wants out of the crib and back to his own bed!

As I got the kids out the door for school, I told Matthew that we solved that problem when he and his siblings were babies. I told him that we often just grabbed them and stuck them in bed with us. His quick wit response – smart choice.

Eventually the kids learned that the love and comfort of their parents wasn’t going to disappear should they suddenly awake during the middle of the night. It’s that whole “object permanence” lesson little people have to learn, which is why the game Peek-A-Boo is so popular. I teaches the baby that just because they can’t see something doesn’t mean it isn’t there.

I agree with Matthew, it was a smart choice. Starting the little treasures in their own little cribs let them know there was a special place for them, but comforting them and reassuring them with our presence the rest of the night also showed the kids that they could count on mom and dad. Glad we didn’t mess that one up too badly as young parents.

Comments Off on Co-Sleeping

Filed under Parenting

Comments are closed.